Raritan HS Athletic Hall of Fame To Induct 11 Standouts, 3 Teams

Raritan Athletic Hall of Fame monument
The monument inside the main entrance gate to the athletic fields displays the names of RHS Athletic Hall of Fame inductees. The bricks are stamped with the names of supporters.

Tickets are on sale now for a special event in Hazlet that only comes along every three years.

The Raritan Athletic Hall of Fame Committee will formally honor 16 Rockets and three state championship teams when it hosts a reception on Sunday, Oct. 27.

The 2019 honorees are:

  • Alexa Ryan, Basketball
  • Tom Jeleniewski – Football
  • Anthony Pulizzano – Soccer
  • Valerie Carney- Track
  • Jeff King, Dan Seidenberg – Wrestling
  • Jen Curran Buirkle – XC/Track
  • Heather O’Brien, Peter Merck – Post High School Athletic Career
  • Robert Generelli – Coach
  • Tom Mosher – Service

The 3 State Championship Teams are:

  • 1968 Baseball Team, Central Jersey Group III Champions
  • 1970/71 Boys Bowling Team – All Groups State Champion
  • 2003/04 Wrestling Team – CJ Group II Sectional Champions, “B” North Champions

The names of the team members are listed on a PDF viewable on the committee’s website.

The induction ceremony will take place around noon at The Gramercy At Lakeside.  Information about the dinner, pictures of the induction classes, “buy a brick” and videos of past inductions can be found on the raritanhsathletichalloffame.com website (see the forms).  Questions about the dinner can be emailed to Citro, the committee’s secretary and treasurer, at jcitro@hazlet.org.  

Raritan Athletic Hall of Fame 2016
The inductees of the 2016 class.
Back row, from left: Andrew Mandeville, Marc Zecchino, Tom Mahon, Rick Jaeger, Mike Buccheri, Matt Fitzpatrick, David Seidenberg, Ryan Waltz, David Kiley.
Front row, from left: Kim Lane, Chelsea Callan, Christine Altland. Not pictured: TJ Mitchell.
Photo courtesy Raritan Athletic Hall of Fame

Since 2000, the Raritan High School Athletic Hall of Fame has honored those who made an impact in the athletic program. This has included 160 players, coaches, administrators and community members, as well as 8 teams, organizer Janet Citro said.

In addition, the organization also recognizes Raritan graduates who have gone on to distinguish themselves in athletics after high school.

Honorees are chosen by an 11-member committee comprised of former coaches, administrators and athletes; hall of fame inductees and a parent.

Inductions to the Athletic Hall of Fame take place every 3 years following a 10-month open nomination period. Nominations are not being accepted at this time.  

Tickets are $65 for adults, $30 for children under 12. They must be purchased before Oct. 4. Find the form here. Tickets will not be sold at the door.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *