Hazlet Township Committee Election: 5 File for Primary

Voting poster at the Hazlet Firehouse
A sign welcoming voters inside the Hazlet Fire Co. #1 firehouse in the November, 2018 election.

HAZLET – Five candidates have filed nominating petitions to run for the Township Committee in November.

There are three seats available on the five-member Committee. Two are full three-year terms and one is a one-year unexpired term.

Three current Township Committee members will seek reelection to the 5-member Committee: Mayor Scott Aagre, Deputy Mayor Mike Glackin and Committeeman Michael Sachs met the April 1 deadline to declare a run in the Republican primary.

Ryan O’Steen and Lucille LoSapio filed to run in the Democratic primary. O’Steen recently ran for Township Committee but lost. Hazlet Democratic Club chairman Kevin Lavan said his party will organize a write-in campaign for the third candidate.

In the race for Monmouth County Freeholder, where two seats are available, there will be no contest. Director Tom Arnone is running with Dominick DiRocco, unopposed. Democrats Michael Penna and Moira Nelson are also running unopposed in their party’s race.

For Assembly, Monmouth County Freeholder Gerry P. Scharfenberger is running for a two-year term to represent the 13th District, as Assemblywoman Amy Handlin is retiring. For the Democrats, Allison Friedman will seek a seat.

The primary is Tuesday, June 4 and the General Election is Nov. 5. Follow Hazletonian.com for interviews with the candidates.

One thought on “Hazlet Township Committee Election: 5 File for Primary

  1. Christine thank you for starting the hazletonian. It’s a fine publication and I really appreciate all the information that it contains. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *