Michael Sachs Returns to Township Committee

Michael Sachs
Township Committeeman Michael Sachs

Michael Sachs was appointed to fill a vacant seat on Hazlet’s Township Committee at Tuesday’s meeting.

The seat became available when Committeewoman Sue Kiley resigned January 4 after winning election to the 2019 Monmouth County Board of Chosen Freeholders in November’s general election. In her formal letter of resignation, she said she looked forward to working as a Freeholder and “continuing to contribute to the success of my hometown, Hazlet, for many years to come.”

Sachs, a Republican, was selected by the all-Republican Township Committee of Scott Aagre, Michael Glackin, James “Skip” McKay and Tara Corcoran-Clark after a review of three candidates proposed by the Hazlet Republican Party. The other two candidates who submitted applications for the seat were Scott Feirstein and William Shea, according to township administrator Dennis Pino.

Sachs, 59, comes to the job with a strong understanding of the township’s operations, having served a combined 15 years on the Township Committee in previous years. He was the mayor four times during his tenure. “I bring knowledge back. I have a lot of experience. We have a couple of new people here” – he said, referring to new members McKay and Corcoran-Clark. “I can benefit that,” he said.

Sachs is also chairman of the 9-member board at the Monmouth County Bayshore Outfall Authority, which oversees effluent disposal for 13 Bayshore municipalities.

The Township Committee is comprised of five members, serving staggered terms. Aagre’s and Glackin’s terms finish in 2019; McKay and Corcoran-Clark terms go until the end of 2021. Sachs’ appointment will terminate upon certification of the November 2019 election results to fill the remainder of the term. The members receive a $4,590 annual salary, with the mayor earning $5,100.

2 thoughts on “Michael Sachs Returns to Township Committee

  1. You should check on Sachs’ term. If he is appointed to a seat, then he only serves until the next election, and must vacate the seat as soon as the election results are certified for whoever runs for and wins that seat. At that point the new committee member is sworn in. Even though Kiley’s seat expired in 2020, there must be an election for it in the next general election, this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *